top of page
  • Kenko Desk

5 languages of self-love, know yours

Love comes in all forms. To be human means to feel and to love is the greatest of all emotions. How do you express it to yourself and others around you?

February is the month of love. It is a crucial aspect of leading a healthy and fulfilling life. Understanding ourselves and taking corrective actions is the foundation of our mental, emotional and physical well-being.

The concept of 'love languages' was introduced by Dr Gary Chapman in his book, The 5 Love Languages, where he talks about the different ways in which people give and receive love. This theory can also be applied to the self, where an individual can discover their preferred way of showing affection to themselves.

Let's talk about the five love languages:

1. Words of Affirmation

Words have a powerful impact on our self-esteem and self-worth. This can be done through self-affirmations, journaling, or simply complimenting.

It's essential to speak kindly to oneself and acknowledge one's strengths and accomplishments.

2. Acts of Service

People who value acts show love by doing things for others. This can also be applied to oneself by caring for one's own physical, mental, and emotional needs. Simple acts like cooking a nutritious meal, having a relaxing bath, or engaging in physical activity can help.

3. Quality Time

When it comes to self-love, it's about setting aside time for oneself and engaging in activities that bring joy and fulfilment. This can be anything from reading a book, practising mindfulness, or simply taking a walk in nature.

4. Gifts

People who value gifts appreciate the thought and effort in selecting a gift for themselves. Gifts can be seen as small treats or indulgences that bring happiness and joy. It can be things like clothes, a bouquet of flowers, or an experience.

5. Physical Touch

This is something that all humans need. In self-love, physical touch can be anything from a hug or a self-massage. This type of self-touch can bring comfort and help release stress and tension.

It's vital to discover and understand one's preferred language of self-love. Practise these and you can develop a stronger and healthier relationship with yourself. Know your love language; it can change your life.

So long as you are practising self-love, get yourself something that could ease your life. The Individual Plan by Kenko Health is the perfect gift you can give to yourself. Get over 50% off on all your medical bills with Kenko Health.

9 views0 comments


bottom of page